So I’m working on finishing my wife’s Mothers Day box. I went with Marc‘s varnish/oil/mineral spirits blend (1 part each), but as I was applying the first coat I saw that there was something all solidified in my mixture, and it wouldn’t blend with the rest. I went ahead and finished the coat and emailed Marc for his take. He thought that maybe the varnish had already cured, so I went and bought some new varnish. No problems on this batch.

So after applying a second coat, I really like the rich color that the wood is taking on. However, there are some spots on the surface that appear dull. I’m not sure what’s causing it. And I don’t know if I can fix it on the next coat or if I have to sand it down a little more to go back a coat or two and start over. Here’s a pic of the top. I think you can see what I’m talking about, near the bottom left of the center panel (click to zoom):

Two Coats - dull spots

Is this something that will fix itself as the finish cures? It was sitting for about 16-20 hours after the second coat before I took this picture.

