I have to admit, since I finished with the actual woodworking part of my wife’s box, and presented it to her, I’ve barely thought about it. But the box isn’t finished yet (literally), so I’d better press on to the end.

So here’s my question for you: how would you finish the box? I was considering a simple 1:1:1 blend of boiled linseed oil, varnish and mineral spirits, as recommended by Marc Spagnuolo in one of his podcasts. That’s the finish I used on my Good Friday Cross, although I don’t know if I did it right. I rubbed it on with a soft cloth, 3 coats I think, lightly sanded in between. I think I read somewhere that you only need to sand prior to the last coat. Is that a good way to apply it?

Thuan over on LumberJocks suggested shellac or even a French polish. To be honest, I didn’t even know what a French polish was, and had to look it up (and it looks a bit complicated for a noob like me). From what I hear, shellac is nice and protective but is more difficult to refinish if needed.

So keeping in mind my limited experience and skills, how would you finish this box?

