I’m guessing that most of you who read that entry title uttered, “Yeah, you and me both, pal.” So I know I’m not alone in this.

I feel competing urges. On the one hand, woodworking is great. It’s a fun hobby, and even though I make countless mistakes and sub-par attempts at anything I do, I can see progress. And that’s rewarding. On the other hand, my family is great. I love them, they love me, and at the end of the day I feel the best when I’ve spent some good time with my wife and kids.

My wife is very patient with me. She knows I have the pull to the shop. Right now, she’s maybe a bit more patient because she knows that the primary thing I’m doing is something for her. But even if I was just doing stuff for my own benefit, she would support it. Still, when my wife spends most of the week taking care of our kids, it seems quite selfish to assume that she should do the same thing on the weekends, instead of me giving her a break for a change.

I think one of the best things I can do at this point is to do woodworking in small chunks. So after dinner, I go excuse myself and make a few cuts, or a glue-up, or some measuring and planning. Half hour or so. Then I’m back. On the weekends, I might be able to take a bit more time.

What do you guys do?

